Advisory Board

Former Hawaii Gov. John D. Waihee, the first native Hawaiian governor since statehood in 1959, served as governor of Hawaii from 1986 to 1994. He was a lieutenant governor under Hawaii Gov. George Ariyoshi. He’s a 1976 graduate of the William S. Richardson School of Law.

Kanoemaileokalani Cazimero is an entertainer, actress and entrepreneur in Honolulu.

Joanne F. Tachibana is the president of the United Nations Association-USA Hawaii Division and secretary of the Sun Yat-sen Hawaii Foundation based in Honolulu.

Jon Shirota, a former Maui resident, is the author of the ground-breaking novel “Lucky Come Hawaii.” Shirota, who now resides in Los Angeles, has received several literary awards, including the Kennedy Center Award for the play “Lucky Come Hawaii.”

Mariah K. Young, a former Maui resident, is a winner of the James D. Houston Award for Western Literature. She holds a Master’s In Creative Writing from the University of California-Riverside and is the Learning Center Advanced Program Coordinator at Pima Community College in Arizona. She is the author of a collection of short stories entitled “Masha’alla and Other Stories.”